Skip to main content


Reset A A Font size: Print

Supreme Court of Indiana.


Supreme Court Case No. 21S-MS-422

Decided: September 13, 2021

Order Establishing the Indiana Eviction Task Force

Last summer, this Court—in partnership with the Indiana Bar Foundation and Office of the Governor—launched the Landlord and Tenant Settlement Conference Program to provide landlords and tenants neutral facilitators to find viable resolutions and access resources, at no cost to either party and without filing an eviction case. And last week, the Indiana Office of Court Technology began sending postcards to all parties in eviction cases as they were filed, with links to eviction resources including funding.

But our courts are both the front line in providing parties a fair chance to resolve their disputes and the last line of defense in getting resources—including millions of dollars available through the U.S. Department of Treasury's Emergency Rental Assistance Program—to the people who need them. And that money must move quickly. Accordingly, the Court hereby ESTABLISHES the Indiana Eviction Task Force. The Task Force shall:

1. Gather necessary input from stakeholders throughout the eviction process.

2. Provide an interim report to the Court, not later than thirty-five days from the date of this order, with recommendations to implement a statewide pre-eviction diversion program that provides more rapid and effective distribution of Emergency Rental Assistance Funds to landlords and tenants.

3. Provide a final report to the Court, not later than January 17, 2022, with findings and recommendations on establishing a permanent pre-eviction diversion program.

A list of Task Force members is attached. The Office of Judicial Administration shall assign staff to assist the Task Force in its work.



1. Chair: The Honorable Robert R. Altice, Jr., Judge, Indiana Court of Appeals

2. The Honorable Jennifer DeGroote, Allen Superior Court

3. The Honorable Kimberly Bacon, Marion County Small Claims Court

4. Magistrate Kathleen Belzeski, Lake Superior Court

5. Brandon Beeler, Indiana Legal Services, Inc.

6. Christine Hayes Hickey, Rubin & Levin

7. Jacob Sipes, Indiana Housing and Community Development Authority

8. Patrick Price, Office of Management and Budget

9. Brian Spaulding, Indiana Apartment Association

All Justices approve.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard