Skip to main content

California Court of Appeal

Reset A A Font size: Print


A city is not subject to suit for damages or an injunction for offering unrestricted access to the Internet through computers at a public library.

Appellate Information

  • Decided 03/06/2001
  • Published 03/06/2001


  •  HANLON, J.*


  • California Court of Appeal


  • For Appellant:
  •  Michael Millen for Plaintiffs and Appellants.

  • For Appellees:
  • Thomas R. Curry, City Attorney, Daniel G. Sodergren, Assistant City Attorney, Gabrielle P. Whelan, Deputy City Attorney, for Defendant and Respondent., Christopher A. Hansen for American Civil Liberties Union, Ann Brick for American Civil Liberties Union of Northern California and Freedon to Read Foundation, Elliot M. Mincberg and Lawrence S. Ottinger for People for the American Way, Bernard C. Barmann, Sr., and Ruth Sorenson for California State Association of Counties, Robert J. Zweben for City of Albany, Heather C. McLaughlin for City of Benicia, Manuela Albuquerque for City of Berkeley, Richard M. Manning for City of Capitola, Ronald R. Ball for City of Carlsbad,  Michael N. Nordstrom for City of Corcoran, Wall Wall & Peake and Alan J. Peake for City of Delano and City of Wasco, Tuttle & McCloskey and Daniel T. McCloskey for Cities of Dinuba, Huron and Orange Cove, Scott H. Howard for City of Glendale, Francis R. Ruggieri for City of Gustine, Elaine M. Cass for City of Hollister, Susan Burns Cochran for City of Lathrop, Sharon D. Stuart for City of Lompoc, Orry P. Korb for Town of Los Gatos, Steven F. Nord for City of Merced, Michael D. Milich for City of Modesto, William B. Conners for City of Monterey, Brown Winfield & Canzoneri and Anthony Canzoneri for City of Monterey Park, Robert D. Herrick for City of Moreno Valley, Michael D. Martello for City of Mountain View,  Duane E. Bennett for City of Oceanside, Best, Best & Krieger and David J. Erwin for City of Palm Desert, Rutan & Tucker and David J. Aleshire for City of Palm Springs, Scott Nichols for Cities of Pico Rivera and Walnut, Debra S. Margolis for City of Pleasant Hill, Michael H. Roush for City of Pleasanton, Daniel J. McHugh for City of Redlands, Owen & Bradley and Robert A. Owen for City of Rialto, Huston T. Carlye, Jr., for City of San Bernardino, Jonathan Lowell for City of San Bruno, Robert G. Boehm for City of San Buenaventura, Leslie E. Devaney for City of San Diego, Louise H. Renne, City Attorney, and Burk E. Delventhal, Deputy City Attorney, for City and County of San Francisco, Jeffrey G. Jorgensen for City of San Luis Obispo,  Roy C. Abrams for City of San Mateo, Brian M. Libow for City of San Pablo, Gary T. Ragghianti for City of San Rafael, Michael R. Downey for City of Santa Clara, Atchison & Barisone and John G. Barisone for City of Santa Cruz, Marsha Jones Moutrie for City of Santa Monica, Phillip H. Romney for City of Santa Paula, Valerie J. Armento for City of Sunnyvale, Ann R. Danforth for Town of Tiburon, Debra E. Corbett for City of Tracy, Richards, Watson & Gershon and Kevin G. Ennis for Palos Verdes Library District, Randall A. Hays for Lodi Public Library Board of Trustees, Cooley Godward, Michael Traynor and Matthew D. Brown for the California State Association of Counties, 48 California Cities, the Palos Verdes Library District and the Lodi Public Library Board of Trustees, as Amicus Curiae on behalf of Defendant and Respondent.
Copied to clipboard